NJ Primary Key Races and Recap

On Tuesday, June 7th, 2016, NJ held it’s primary election. Although it is a late-season primary, it became a battleground between Hillary Clinton and Vermont Sen. Bernie Sanders. Clinton’s victory over Sanders in NJ is seen as decisive, although Sanders has vowed to remain in the race. This breakdown looks at the Presidential race and key Congressional and Legislative races.

Donald Trump 
received 80% of the vote, walking away with NJ’s 51 Republican Delgates

Hillary Clinton defeated Bernie Sanders. Clinton received 63.3% of the votes (542,708 votes) to Sanders’ 36.7% (315,218 votes). Clinton is now the presumptive Democratic nominee.

US Congress- Contested Races
District 1: US Congressman Donald Norcross defeated challenger Alex Law with 69.7% of the vote in the Democratic Primary. Congressman Norcross will face Republican challenger Bob Patterson in the November General Election

District 2: David Cole defeated Tino Rozzo to receive the Democratic party’s nomination for Congress. Cole will faceCongressman Frank LoBiondo in the November General Election.

District 3: Frederick LaVergne defeated Jim Keady with 62.7% of the vote to receive the Democratic Party’s nomination for Congress. LaVergne will face Congressman Tom MacAuthur in the general election.

District 4: Congressman Chris Smith defeated challenger Bruce MacDonald with 92% of the vote. Congressman Smith will face Democratic challenger Lorna Phillipson in the fall.

District 5: Congressman Scott Garrett retained the Republican Party’s nomination for Congress with 82.3% of the vote defeating  Michael Cino and Peter Vallorosi. Congressman Garrett will face Joshua Gottheimer in the fall.

District 7: Congressman Leonard Lance retained the Republican Party’s nomination for Congress with 53.9% of the vote, defeating challengers David Larsen and Craig Heard. Congressman Lance will face Peter Jacob in the November general election.

District 8: Congressman Albio Sires received 87% of the vote against young upstart Eloy Delgado for the Democratic Party’s nomination for Congress. Congressman Sires will face Agha Khan in the general.

District 11: Congressman Rodney Frelinghuysen retained the Republican Party’s nomination for Congress, defeating Rick Van Glahn with 76.2% of the vote. Congressman Frelinghuysen will face Democrat Joseph Wenzel in November. Wenzel defeated Richard McFarlane and Lee Anne Brogowski with 71% of the vote.

District 12: Congresswoman Bonnie Watson Coleman retained the Democratic Party’s nomination for Congress, defeating Alexander Kucsma with 93.7% of the vote. Congresswoman Watson Coleman will face Steven Uccio in the general.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s